Grapefruit & Basil Sangria

When Williams-Sonoma reached out to me to create a sangria recipe it was like the mothership calling me home. So obviously I jumped at the chance. 1. I love Williams-Sonoma and 2. I love sangria. How easy was that? Also, with the holiday weekend coming up, what better time to whip up a batch to serve at your neighborhood BBQ, family beach trip, or with a group of pals? Well, with my Grapefruit & Basil Sangria, look no further for a fresh, healthy, and boozy recipe!

gandb sangria

I have not been able to get enough grapefruit this summer. I just love it’s tart, sweet taste whether alone or mixed in a cocktail. Luckily for me, grapefruit also has many health benefits such as lowering cholesterol, boosting metabolism (hello!), and helping firm skin (double hello!).

There is nothing better than juice straight from the source. There is something so pure out slicing a grapefruit and juicing it, rather than just pouring it out of a bottle from the grocery store. Williams-Sonoma has an awesome selection of juicers perfect for a recipe such as this! I need to add this Electric Citrus Press to my arsenal. John would love it! Do you juice?

My garden has had an abundance of basil this summer. I have been whipping up caprese salads, pesto dishes, and spaghetti sauce with it all summer… so why not add it to my cocktails too? Did you know that basil is a stress reliever? Uh huh. And can also help reduce breakouts? Uh huh. Enough said.

Here is what you need.

DSC_0009

 

or in words that would be:

1/2 bottle of sauvignon blanc or other white wine

1/2 bottle prosecco or champagne

1 cup fresh squeezed grapefruit juice

1/2 cup basil simple syrup*

1 grapefruit, sliced

fresh basil for garnish

soda water, optional

basil simple syrup

*for the basil simple syrup

1 cup water

1 cup sugar, I used turbinado sugar

1 cup loosely packed basil

Heat all three ingredients in a saucepan until sugar dissolves. you can use regular granulated sugar (which would give the sangria a lighter color), but I had turbinado sugar on hand. Remove the pan from heat and let it sit for about 10 minutes, infusing the basil flavor. Strain it into a container and refrigerate until cool. The simple syrup keeps for about a week in the fridge.

In a large pitcher, pour wine, grapefruit juice, and basil simple syrup over ice. Add in grapefruit slices and top with prosecco. Pour into glasses and garnish with a grapefruit slice and chiffonaded basil. Top with soda water for a lighter taste.

I registered at Williams-Sonoma for my wedding and the pitcher and glasses can still be purchased there and monogrammed with your own initial. Like I said: MOTHER. SHIP.

DSC_0017

So not only is this sangria yummy, it is also good for you. It’s all you ever wanted a cocktail to be!

Whip up a batch with your buds this weekend! I still have some basil simple syrup sitting around if any one wants to come over…

gandb sangria

2 thoughts on “Grapefruit & Basil Sangria

Tell me about it!