Susan’s Salad

John had this wonderful, amazing, talented step-mother named Susan. There truly aren’t enough wonderful things I can say about her. She was a wonderful mother, step-mother, friend, cook, florist, gardener, artist and more. So when she passed away a few years ago, there was definitely a hole left in John’s family.

ABMDMOM

Her memory has lived on through her daughters, my sister-in-laws, Anne Bolling and Mary Delia. One way that Susan is remembered is through her recipes, such as what I call Susan’s Salad (don’t even get me started on shrimp ‘n grits). For years I could never remember what exactly was in it, but each time I had it at one of the girls’ houses, I would promise myself that this time I would remember it. After making this like 100 times in so many nights I thought that it would be an awesome recipe to share.

It is super simple and full of flavor. AND it just gets better and better with time in the fridge. I love to make this at night for dinner and then snack on it a little more for lunch the next day.

I am not going to really give measurements because it just depends on what you want.

Thinly sliced cucumber

Thinly sliced onion

Thinly sliced tomato

Good Seasons Salad dressing in Zest Italian (you know, the one you mix with water, oil, and vinegar in the package)

Lawry’s Season Salt

DSC_0002

Fill a shallow dish, bowl, or plate with thinly sliced cucumber. The thinner the better!

DSC_0004

Top with the thinly sliced onion. The thinner the better! There is a theme here.

DSC_0005

Thinly sliced tomato. The thinner the better! There is that theme again.

DSC_0008

Top with a generous amount of salad dressing. You want to let the salad kind of swim in it at the bottom. Its almost like marinating veggies. I would say for this salad I used about 1/2 the jar.

DSC_0009

Top with a sprinkle of Lawry’s Seasoned Salt.

DSC_0010

Just like this.

DSC_0011

Mix the veggies up and place the salad in the fridge until  you are ready to eat it. I generally like to let it “get to know itself” for an hour or so. But it can be made hours ahead of serving time as well.

DSC_0013

Its the perfect accompaniment to a meal, good on its own as a snack, or placed on top of a bed of lettuce for lunch.

DSC_0017

You can’t go wrong with this salad. Not only is it delicious but it also reminds me of sitting at the bar in Savannah eating dinner with Susan (and probably about 15 other people). I was always excited when I saw her over there mixing this up.

One Year Ago: Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken

Two Years Ago: 10 Years Ago I Was in High School

Three Years Ago: Weekend Trip to BuHiFM

 

3 thoughts on “Susan’s Salad

Tell me about it!